1.       BEST DOCUMENTARY/FEATURE MAKER, sponsored by Heavy Entertainment logo - 7 quality audio studios and video production, Soho

For general feature and documentary making including all areas of non-topical news features and documentaries.  Typically this might include historical, arts, lifestyle features and documentaries.

  • Ruth Evans (Ruth Evans Productions)                 
  • Jonathan Mayo (TBI Media)    
  • Eleanor McDowall (Falling Tree)
  • Steve Urquhart (freelance)
  • Hana Walker-Brown (freelance)

For news and current affairs documentary and feature making, including investigative documentaries, topical issues and foreign reporting.  Typically, entries should be led or inspired by the news agenda or contemporary life, but may also include human stories, comment or science reporting.

  • Deborah Dudgeon (Whistledown Productions)
  • Tim Johns (BBC Radio 2)
  • Christian Spooner (BBC Radio Merseyside)
3.       BEST COMEDY/ENTERTAINMENT PRODUCER, sponsored by  the Voiceover Network

For comedy and other entertainment audio content or programming including panel games, but excluding music & drama.

  • Gus Beattie  (The Comedy Unit)
  • Sam Bryant  (BBC Comedy)
  • Peter Curran  (The Foghorn Company)
  • Matt Stronge (BBC Comedy)
  • Ben Walker (Fuzz Productions)
4.       BEST MUSIC PRODUCER, sponsored by  Roberts Radio logo

For music audio content or programming including music-based documentaries and sequence programmes.

  • Guy Bellamy (107 Meridian FM)
  • Alannah Chance (Reduced Listening)
  • Hayley Clarke (Somethin’ Else)
  • Sam Coley (Absolute Radio)
  • Dan Moss (Somethin’ Else)
5.       BEST SOUND DESIGNER/ENGINEER, sponsored by  Wired Broadcast logo


For production and broadcast (live or pre-recorded) capturing the atmosphere of musical performances in concerts, festivals and studios. Or for sound designers (studio managers or engineers) working on any type of production. 

  • Steve Bond (Goldhawk Productions)
  • Michael Curling (TBI Media)
  • Weidong Lin (Monocle 24)
  • Mark Pittam (TBI Media)
  • Steve Urquhart (freelance)
  • Eloise Whitmore (Naked Productions)
6.       BEST PODCAST/ ONLINE PRODUCER, sponsored by  Panoply logo

For the creation of audio programming and/or podcasts, designed solely for online transmission or distribution.

  • Leeanne Coyle (Whistledown Productions)
  • Sue Nelson (Boffin Media)
  • James Shield (freelance)
  • Ben Walker (Fuzz Productions)

For the creative extension of audio programming onto other media platforms.  Judges will be looking for the visionary of the future. 

  • Manish Doolabh (Somethin’ Else)
  • Eleanor McDowall (Radio Atlas)
  • Kate Valentine (Digital Drama)
8.       BEST DRAMA PRODUCER, sponsored by Ecovis Wingrave Yeats logo

For the production of audio drama, dramatised readings, spoken word and creative writing. Judging criteria will include the range and choice of material, performance, direction and production values. 

  • Laurence Bowen (Feel Good Fiction)
  • John Dryden (Goldhawk Productions)
  • Fiona McAlpine (Allegra Productions)
  • Boz Temple-Morris (Holy Mountain)
  • Polly Thomas (Somethin' Else)
9.       BEST READINGS / AUDIOBOOK PRODUCER, sponsored by the Voice Squad

For the production of broadcast readings or audio books. Judging criteria will include the range and choice of material, performance, direction and production values.

  • Tamsin Collison (freelance)
  • Joanna Green (Pier Productions)
  • Roy McMillan (Penguin Random House UK Audio)
  • Holly Newson (Listening Books)
  • David Roper (Heavy Entertainment)
10.   BEST NEWCOMER, sponsored by R Extra logo - DAB platform for radio art and experimental sound

To honour a newcomer to audio production who has shown great potential. The judges will be looking for evidence of a sustained contribution to a production or production company, or for a remarkable debut as a producer or engineer. 

  • Gemma Dunstan (BBC Introducing West)
  • Giles Gear (Passion Radio Oxford)
  • Robert Nicholson (Whistledown Productions)
  • James Shield (freelance)
  • Zoe Stegosaurus (freelance)
11.   BEST STATION SOUND PRODUCER, sponsored by  AVResilience logo

For producers in radio/audio imaging. Judges will be looking for exceptional creativity across the full range of audio branding, including voiceovers, music beds, sweepers, intros, promos, liners, stingers, bumpers, shotguns, and jingles. 

  • Giles Gear (Union JACK)
  • Chris Nicoll (freelance)
  • Lee Price (Absolute Radio)
  • James Stodd (Celador Radio)
  • Chris Ward (Bauer Media)
12.   GRASSROOTS PRODUCTION AWARD, sponsored by RIGtrain logo

For an individual, production company, radio station, audio brand or community-based organisation that has shown extraordinary achievement in identifying, nurturing or mentoring new and diverse talent to the audio industry.  This category is not aimed at the new talent themselves.

  • BBC Newsjack 
  • Birmingham City University Radio Dept. 
  • Camden Community Radio
  • Podium.me 
  • National Prison Radio
  • Roundhouse Radio
13.   NARRATOR OF THE YEAR, sponsored by Sue Terry logo 

Recognising the year’s best performance by the narrator of an audiobook or readings series. Judges will be looking for evidence of outstanding vocal capabilities and sensitivity across a wide range of material.

  • Clare Corbett
  • Anna Parker-Naples
  • Daniel Weyman 

For exceptional on-mic talent presenting speech programmes.  As well as being judged on exceptional audio/radio content, criteria will include rapport with the production team, creativity and the willingness to regularly go above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Dotun Adebayo (BBC Radio 5 Live)
  • Emma Barnett (BBC Radio 5 Live, BBC Radio 4)
  • Fi Glover (BBC Radio 4)
  • Alan Robson (Metro Radio)
  • Jeremy Vine (BBC Radio 2)

For exceptional on-mic talent presenting music programmes. As well as being judged on exceptional audio/radio content, criteria will include rapport with the production team, creativity and the willingness to regularly go above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Clara Amfo (BBC Radio 1)
  • Goldierocks (The Selector - Folded Wing for the British Council)
  • Dan O’Connell (Radio X)
  • Cerys Matthews (BBC Radio 6 Music)
  • Huw Stephens (BBC Radio 1, BBC Radio Cymru, BBC World Service)

For exceptional presenters who, although already established in the audio/radio sector, have not yet achieved mainstream recognition. Entrants should not be brand new to the audio industry as judges will be looking for a track record which points to their great future potential.

  • Georgie Frost (Share Radio)
  • Andrew Hunter Murray (Private Eye Podcast, No Such Thing As A Fish)
  • Leo Johnson (BBC Radio 4)
  • Jacob Pollard (Roundhouse Radio)
  • Jake Yapp (talkRADIO)

For an individual who has made an outstanding contribution, usually over a number of years, to the independent radio and audio production sector in the UK.

Winner to be revealed at the Awards Ceremony on 23rd November


Recognises a company’s success across the year.  Entries welcome from the smallest to the largest companies. Judges will consider the level of creative excellence as well as business challenges and growth of the company during the qualifying period, and taking into account the size of the company. 

  • Just Radio
  • Loftus Media
  • PRA Productions
  • TBI Media
  • Whistledown Productions


If you have any questions please email team@audioproductionawards.co.uk
Any disputes will be resolved on the principle of Equity.  
The Judges's decision on the winners will be Final.

The Radio Independents Group is a company limited by guarantee, regd no 06527771.  RIG Events Ltd is regd no 06614180Both are registered in England & Wales, registered office: Unit 2 Olympic Court, Whitehills Business Park, Blackpool, Lancs FY4 5GU